St George's Hill Golf Club

The Clubhouse Became A Military Hospital

In 1914 the owners and committee of the Golf Club offered the War Office the clubhouse for use as a Military Hospital, to be run by the British Red Cross. To help equip the hospital, Members subscribed over £1,500, circa £165k in today’s money. The first patients were admitted on October 5th 1914. There was provision for 50 beds, 30 in the lounge and 20 in the dining room on the floor above. Convalescent patients who were golfers were able to speed their recovery by making use of the course, which remained open throughout the war. By the time the hospital closed in 1919 some 3,000 casualties had been treated.




St George’s Hill private estate has a long and storied history. Of regal and aristocratic descent, the land was acquired by one W G Tarrant, a local builder with the foresight to bring exclusive real estate together with an inspired golf course.

learn more



An iconic feature in British golf, the Clubhouse at St George’s Hill Golf Club is an exceptional piece of architecture. The contrasting red brick structure sits proudly at the pinnacle of the hill, casting a watchful eye over the courses and all who visit.

learn more



A key feature of St. George’s Hill Golf Club is the friendly welcome you always get from our staff, our well-appointed lounge and bar areas; together with a great culinary experience in our first floor dining room with its renowned carvery and panoramic views over the course.

Thoughts of Bernard Darwin 2017 Ladies’ Open Competitor

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.

© St George's Hill Golf Club. All rights reserved. Powered by intelligentgolf